Submit Your Article Idea
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Applications have opened for the inaugural cohort of the Southern University and A&M College Presidential Fellows program.

According to the announcement, the program, which is named for the presidents of Southern University, is open to all undergrad students at Southern University and A&M College. Over the last 100 years, the historically Black college and university (HBCU) has more than 10 college presidents.

The new program will provide mentorship and professional development opportunities to two freshmen, two sophomores, two juniors, and two seniors throughout an academic year. Additionally, students will receive a $2,000 stipend ($1,000 per semester).

Leadership development will be focused on academics, civic engagement, communication, and public service.

At the culmination of the program, participating students will have an enhanced experience that will further prepare them to compete and succeed in an ever-changing global marketplace.

Southern University Presidents include Joseph Samuel Clark (1913-1938), Felton Grandison Clark (1938-1968), George Leon Netterville (1968-1974),  Jesse Nealand Stone (1974-1985), Joffre Trumbull Whisenton (1985-1988), Dolores M.R. Spikes (1988-1996), Leon R. Tarver (1997-2006), Ralph Slaughter (2006-2009, Ronald Mason Jr. (2010-2015), and Ray L. Belton (2015-Present).

During Women’s History Month 2019, Southern University recognized the college’s only woman president, Dolores M.R. Spikes. Before she became the system’s president, she served as the chancellor for Southern University and A&M College-Baton Rouge, LA, and Southern University at New Orleans.

She was also the first female to lead a public college or university in the state of Louisiana. In addition, she was the first woman in the United States to head a university system.

(Photo courtesy of Southern University) Click here for more information.

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial