Submit Your Article Idea

Tuskegee University Board Chair Norma Clayton was among 111 science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) leaders inducted by the National Academy of Engineering during the annual meeting in Washington D.C. October 2-3.

Click Here!

Clayton received one of the highest professional distinctions conferred on engineers. She was inducted for her “leadership in transforming manufacturing processes and supply chain management and for innovative training programs for commercial aerospace industries.”

“After two years of meeting virtually, 2022 marks the return to convening our NAE community in person to induct new members from the Classes of 2020, 2021, and 2022 into the Academy!,” the academy announced on its website.

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has more than 2,000 members dedicated to providing advice on engineering and technology. Members are distinguished professionals in business and academic management, technical positions, university faculty, and leaders in government and engineering organizations.

New members are elected by current NAE members. They include Dr. John Brooks Slaughter, winner of the first Black Engineer of the Year Award in 1987. He was elected to membership in  1982.  Mark E. Dean, the 2001 Black Engineer of the Year, was inducted in 2001. Four years later, retired IBM executive Rodney Adkins was inducted into the NAE. Adkins is the 2007 Black Engineer of the Year.

Clayton, former vice president of lean manufacturing and quality at Boeing, received the Professional Achievement in Industry Award at the BEYA STEM Conference in 2000.

Click Here!

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial