Submit Your Article Idea

Giving, music and celebration were the guiding themes as the Dream 4 It Foundation celebrated its 13th anniversary in August with a virtual concert and scholarship awards ceremony.

Safety protocols prevented the usual in-person event, however, the unique circumstances of 2020 could not stop the foundation’s commitment to inspiring dreams.

Seven high-school seniors were awarded scholarships and the foundation also continued its commitment to fulfilling an Endowed Scholarship at Towson University. The foundation’s 13-year giving total now stands at $183,000.00.

When reflecting on this year’s successes, Dr. Anthony Brown, the foundation’s president, stated “we were able to distribute scholarships despite the challenges of the season and this is a direct result of the faithful support of our individual and corporate sponsors. More than supporting educational dreams financially, we believe our work champions the role education can play in promoting world change. It is statistically proven that persons with college degrees are better positioned to impact society economically and socially.”

A summation of the foundation’s 2020 accomplishments to date:

• $15,000.00 in scholarships to six students attending Colleges and Universities across the country.
• $1,500.00 in book stipends to area students.
• Payments totaling $6,000.00 toward our Endowed Scholarship commitment at Towson University.
• $1,000.00 scholarship to a Towson University student as a part of the Endowment commitment.
• Continued to strengthen efforts to promote the giving opportunity through the Combined Federal Charities Campaign.
• Continued ongoing commitment to stay connected to our current and former scholars – offering inspiration and information intended to inspire and support them as they architect their dreams.

2020 scholarship recipients included:

 Madison Durry, Spelman College
 Joselyn Forbes, North Carolina A&T University
 Hydeia Hall, Benedict College
 Amber Mosley, Indian University
 Robyn Nelson, North Carolina A&T University
 Caroline Neumann, Towson University
 Jordan Womack, Augusta University

2020 honorees included:

 Erricka Bridgeford, Executive Director – Baltimore Community Mediation Center
 Mitchell Posner, Executive Director – Community Assistance Network (CAN)

To find out more about the Dream 4 It Foundation go to www.dream4it.net or call (443) 472-3311. Your tax-deductible donations are appreciated.

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial