Submit Your Article Idea

The Hampton University School of Science held its 25th annual Research Symposium on April 1, via Zoom. According to the university, the theme for this year was “Frontiers In Science: Inspiring Research In Challenging Times,” recognizing faculty and students who conducted research over the last academic year.

“It could not be more timely,” said Hampton University President Dr. William R. Harvey in a statement. “I hope that our students will come away with a true understanding and appreciation from experts who are working swiftly while not sacrificing the quality of their work even in the most trying times.”

The keynote speaker during the virtual symposium was Ernest L. Yufenyuy, who serves as a team leader at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the national public health agency of the United States.

“Having keynote speakers from the National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention speaks volumes,” said Dr. Isi Ero-Tolliver, interim dean of the Hampton University School of Science. “Especially when these agencies have been active in forming our thoughts and developing strategies related to the Covid-9 virus and other viruses for years.”

Speakers at the event traced the history of Covid-19, as well as the discovery of the vaccines and what these vaccines entail. Highlights of the program included two keynote addresses, a break-out session, oral and poster presentations, and an awards session.

On April 16, the School of Engineering & Technology hosted an all-day virtual event to mark its 25th-anniversary celebration.

“This is the first-ever virtual anniversary commemoration in support of the Hampton University School of Engineering & Technology,” wrote Joyce Shirazi, dean of the School of Engineering and Technology. “It is a different experience as we celebrate 25 years of greatness within this tremendous school with our stellar students.”

Other remarks were provided by distinguished alumni, including Mr. William Brown, P.E. (’63), Captain David Simpson (’98), Dr. Demetris Geddis (’98), United Airlines Captain Kyle Whitaker (’99), Dr. Darryl N. Williams (’99), Mr. Ed Ireland (’00), Mr. Dr. Derek Ham (’01), Mr. Howard Mack (’08), Mr. James Smalls (’98), Dr. Courtney A. Mitchell Abana (’11), Dr. Randolph Ashton (’02), and Dr. Shayla Maya Sawyer (’03).

Breakout sessions focused on artificial intelligence (AI), augmented reality in architecture, aviation, and engineering,  biotechnology.  School of Engineering & Technology students were assigned to small-group breakout rooms with pre-assigned alumni.

There was also an Alumni Networking event moderated by Mr. Jayrick Hayes (’10).  The Virtual Gala was emceed by Ms. Anita Blanton, evening anchor of WAVY TV-10/WVBT FOX43 (NBC Affiliate).

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial