Submit Your Article Idea

Morgan State University has announced the completion of its Sesquicentennial Anniversary Campaign.

According to a university statement the funding effort raised more than $250 million in gifts and grants from 15,000+ supporters.

The campaign, which coincided with Morgan State’s 150-year anniversary celebration in 2017, officially kicked off during Morgan’s Founders Day Convocation in 2016.

“I am pleased to share that with contributions from thousands of dedicated supporters, we have surpassed our goal,” said Morgan State University President David Wilson in the statement.

“This is a significant achievement, made possible by the generosity of those committed to the success of Morgan and our students.”

The funds secured will be used to advance teaching and research, develop academic programs, provide student scholarships and further community engagement, the university said.

To promote the growth, progress, and welfare of Morgan State University, the Morgan State University Foundation, Inc. was created.

The Morgan State University Foundation records and distributes gifts and grants from alumni, parents, friends, corporations, and foundations.

Morgan State Foundation Board Members

Mr. Frank B. Coakley
Chief Lending Officer, Baltimore Community Lending

Mrs. Jacqueline L. Lawson
Vice Chair/Chair, Development Committee
Former President, MSU Alumni Association

Ms. Alice G. Pinderhughes, Esq.
Attorney at Law, Alice G. Pinderhughes, P.A.

Ms. Detra M. Miller
Treasurer/Chair, Finance Committee
Vice President, Retail Regional Manager, M&T Bank

Mr. Larry E. Jennings, Jr.
Chair, Investment Committee
Senior Managing Director, ValStone Partners

Mr. Jason T. Bonardi
Regional Director | Field Management

Mr. Gary L. Burgess
Senior Vice President
Human Resources (Retired), Crown Holdings

Rev. Charles D. Fletcher, Jr., Ph.D.
President, MSU Alumni Association

Mr. Forest T. Harper, Jr.
President and CEO

Mr. Bert J. Hash, Jr.
Chair, Audit Committee
President and CEO (Retired), Municipal Employees Credit Union

Mr. Kevin L. Hawkins
President, TrueNorth Advisors

Rev Marsha Evans Holmes
Deacon, Diocese of Florida

Dr. Melanie L. Jackson
Board Certified Gastroenterologist
Anne Arundel Gastroenterologist Associates, P.A.

Mr. Rodney D. Jones, Sr.
President and CEO
National Capital Resources, LLC.

Mr. David A. Sheppard
Regional Inspector General
U.S. Department of Commerce, Office of the Inspector General

Mr. Joseph S. Simms, III
Chair, Committee on Directors
Vice President, Human Resources, US Retail & Commercial Sales
Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.

Dr. Tyrone D. Taborn
Chairman and CEO, Career Communications Group, Inc.


Dr. David Wilson
President, Morgan State University

Ms. Cheryl Y. Hitchcock
Executive Director, MSU Foundation, Inc.
Vice President, Institutional Advancement

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial