Submit Your Article Idea

Morgan State University President David K. Wilson has announced the selection of Michael V. Drake, M.D., president of the University of California (UC), as the keynote speaker for the 144th Spring Commencement.

Dr. Drake’s public service spans multiple roles in the American Medical Association, the National Eye Institute, the Association of American Medical Colleges, and commissions on health in the state of California.

“It is with honor and privilege that we welcome a true leader, Dr. Michael Drake, to our great institution on such a monumental occasion as we recommit ourselves to the academic rites and traditions that define who we are, our experiences, and the legacy we aspire to leave behind,” said President Wilson in a statement. “Dr. Drake shares in our commitment to excellence, accessibility, leadership, and addressing the critical issues that shape research and public service in our pursuit to elevate our communities.”

Dr. Drake presently serves as president of UC’s system of 10 campuses, five medical centers, three nationally affiliated labs, more than 280,000 students, and 230,000 faculty and staff. He previously served as president of The Ohio State University (OSU) from 2014 through June 2020.

Prior to his six years at OSU, he was chancellor of UC Irvine for nine years from 2005 to 2014 and as the systemwide vice president for health affairs from 2000 to 2005.

“Morgan State is a national treasure, and these graduates have persevered and prevailed in a time of great challenges for our entire global community,” said President Drake. “The opportunity to celebrate these inspiring Morgan graduates is a personal honor and the fulfillment of my own long family connection to this historic higher education institution.”

He is a former chair of the board of directors of the Association of American Universities (AAU), the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC), and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). He is currently a member of the board of directors of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and chair of the board of directors of the Commonwealth Fund.

Click here for more on Morgan State University’s plans for graduation.

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial