Submit Your Article Idea

Since Career Communications Group introduced its science, technology,  engineering, and math (STEM) achievement recognition program in 1987, more than 10,000 men and women have been nominated for the Black Engineer of the Year Awards (BEYA). Last year, the top award – Black Engineer of the Year – was won by Booz Allen Hamilton executive Anthony Mitchell.

The recognition program offers opportunities to showcase exemplary employees and their mentors or champions for recognition of their achievements. The awards recognize the individual accomplishments of employees in STEM and those who have consistently provided exceptional service during the past year.

If you’ve submitted a BEYA application between 2008 and 2019, click here to login and submit your candidates for the 2020 awards. Not in the database? Click on the My Account tab above to create your account. Click on Apply Now to login with your new password to get started.

The selection panel looks for “first” stories. If a nominee is a pioneer in his or her field, then the panel takes a hard look at the reasons that nominee broke the barrier. They look for the level of responsibility within the organization. Equally important to the selection panel is the prospect that an award will positively impact community activities, and other minorities seeking science and technology careers.

Three years ago, BEYA introduced new categories, which acknowledge the outstanding contributions made by past Black Engineers of the Year to the STEM enterprise, and for the positive impact on the wider STEM community.

Legacy awards include the Linda Gooden Legacy Award for Entrepreneurship, the Albert J. Edmonds Legacy Award in Federal IT, the Joe N. Ballard Legacy Award for Public Engineering Services, the Rodney C. Adkins Legacy Award for Business Transformation, the Dr. John Brooks Slaughter Legacy Award for Higher Education and Leadership, the Anthony R. James Legacy Award in the Utilities category, the William R. Wiley Award for Research, and the Walt W. Braithwaite Award for Aviation, which went to George Jonas in 2019.

A summer camp program brought Jonas to the United States, which led to him enrolling at Wichita State University. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and earned a master’s in electrical engineering. Jonas joined The Boeing Company in 2011 as an in-service airplane safety engineer, after launching his engineering career with Bombardier Aerospace Learjet in 2007.

He has since completed a Stanford Advanced Project Management Certificate, Kansas University Safety Assessment and 1309 Design Analysis Certificate, and an Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Certificate of Management in Aviation Safety.

Recently, Jonas spent six months overseeing the inception of a Tanzanian youth STEM initiative. Along with Boeing teams, he planned and coordinated STEM activities and speaking engagements. Legacy awards are a showcase of the best in STEM. Nominate people in STEM who have achieved outstanding successes.

Key dates to remember:

Nominations close August 2019
■ Finalists will be announced in October 2019
Awards ceremonies will be held February 13-15, 2020

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial