Submit Your Article Idea

Two Jackson State University students were among the first group of undergrads and graduates chosen as HBCU Competitiveness Scholars by the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

Scholars are selected based on their classroom performance, leadership, and “go-getter” or competitive spirit. The 2018 Competitiveness Scholars represented 54 historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs).

Michael Ware, a sociology major, and Lisa Johnson, a higher education administration doctoral student at Jackson State joined 61 other scholars at the National HBCU Week Conference held Sept. 16-18 in Washington, D.C.

Among the scholars recognized at an awards ceremony held during the conference were Tuskegee University’s Terrance Platt, an integrative biosciences doctoral student, and Caleb Washington, a senior majoring in sociology. Both were nominated by Dr. Lily McNair, according to a college statement.

Southern University and A&M College announced Oscar McClain, Brianna Golden, and Jimmie Herring represented the Southern University System.

The White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities HBCU Competitiveness Scholars program is designed to honor students that improve standards of living in their communities. Click here to see the full list of 2018 HBCU Competitiveness Scholars.

leave a Reply

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial